Venture Capital, One Week Changed My Career and Life For The Better (Featuring FashionBombDaily)

Last week, the Super Bowl took over Houston. Aside from Tom Brady being in the media yet again for a post-Bowl fiasco (this time his jersey was “stolen”), as I prepped for the mayhem at my multiple offices (kicking off NFL Experience with mom & her FedEx team), things turned from crazy to a blessing in disguise.

After ending a chaotic term at one office, that came as a total shock in the middle of the week, I decided to dust it off my shoulders and work on what I need to refocus on, my career, my future in fashion, my professional website and blog, networking and building relationships with amazing multi-hyphenate women (like myself), and most importantly my education. Later that week, things got better.

After a month planning celebrity visits to bring attention to a property I worked in Houston, my director and I (through multiple, trusty connections), we finally secured the one and only Claire Sulmers (aka FashionBombDaily). If you are one of her millions of followers, you know she is the one to keep you informed all everything happening from Hollywood to New York and back. If you loved Beyoncé‘s pregnancy photo op lingerie set or Lady Gaga‘s halftime performance fit, FashionBombDaily has every detail outfit you will ever need versus hunting for it on Google. She’s a machine. A machine that works hard (on top of her mega-blog, she is also an author) and is the ultimate sweetheart.

From meeting in David Yurman and party hopping to Christian Louboutin, I knew she was the one to get to know. img_1192

Getting cozy  and showing off at Claire’s in-store pre-Super Bowl party with The Webster, while Claire promotes her self-authored book, The Bomb Lifeimg_7858

img_7860
Location: The Webster (Houston Galleria); Dress & Earrings: Topshop; Heels: Sam Edelman; Black Velvet Minaudière (middle): Zara (post via IG: @err_mayed)

 

Power working, mixing and mingling with FashionBombDaily

img_7862

Ran into Bama alum and Green Bay Packer, HaHa Clinton-Dix. Roll Tide!

img_7867
Coat: Zara
fullsizerender-4
Location: NFLExperience (George R. Brown Convention Center); All Access pass with Fedex Express, Air and Ground, here with all the glory – The Lombardi Trophy; Painted Jacket: Zara

After collecting myself, I decided to take full initiative. Why sit on my butt wishing, hoping and waiting for my success to blow up and appear. I need to use the resources I have to make all of that happen. I may not have my high tech camera and equipment, but I have a powerful iPad and iPhone and I am going to create the visuals I need to build up my brand and name. Time to stop wishing and waiting and start doing (yes, like NIKE). With so much inspiration and happenings that went down in Houston during Super Bowl and upcoming for NYFW, there is so much to do and say.

img_2525
Off-The-Shoulder-Top: Aritzia; Trousers: Zara

**Full video of these looks on Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube.

img_2930
Top & Trousers: Zara
img_3012
Linen Shirtdress & Booties: Zara

Consistency is key and I promise to keep you all on the up and up.

Leave a Reply

