Collect & Covet | Barnes & Noble Haul


When you get a little extra change, how do you use it? Do you go out and buy that new dress you’ve held in your Zara bag for weeks now? Splurge on a night out with your friends? Or save it for emergencies or a rainy day? Well, for me, I was tempted by my Barnes and Noble wishlist to buy a few of my must-reads.

Since becoming a B&N member, I have been thankful for the mailed coupons awaiting to be used at some point throughout the month. This month I have finished a record three books and decided to fill in my shelf with three more for July. Thanks to the amazing women over at Girls at Library, I’d be lost as to what I should read next. During a quick scroll on their main page, I had the chance to get a BTS look into Hillary Kerr, co-founder of CMG Inc., Who What Wear, and hopefully my future boss, what secrets her shelves hold. Surprisingly, we share the same interests and excitement when it comes to reading, picking up a new or old paperback and just getting lost. If it wasn’t for her, I wouldn’t have discovered and fallen in love (so far) with Valley of the Dolls by Jacqueline Susann. I am currently in at about 200 pages and I am already hooked. I’ve been warned by friends and acquaintances that the fun hasn’t even started yet. Stay tuned for my update on what I think and ending with my final thoughts in the coming week(s).

Career-Contessa-Hillary-Kerr-SS01
Hillary Kerr, co-founder of Who What Wear and author of The Career Code. Photo courtesy of Career Contessa.

Next, after rewatching 10 Things I Hate About You (for the thousandth time) and remembering Kat’s stroll in the book store, a particular book makes the scene via Heath Ledger’s character supposedly “lost” a copy of. The Feminine Mystique by Betty Friedan has been on my radar since I first saw the movie. While looking high and low for the book, I finally came across it – with several Women’s Studies undergrad students looking for the same copy. Luckily, I got an ear full on how this book started the culture and movement that is the “new wave” Feminist Movement and how it’s still prevalent today. I can’t wait to crack it open and value the thoughts and ideas of the feminist genius.

giphy
Men who support the movement (*insert praising hand emoji)

Lastly, after scanning the front shelves of the popular non-fiction editor picks at B&N, my eyes caught the cover of My Husband’s Wife by Jane Corry. The low-down: When Lily, a lawyer, marries Ed she intends to leave her past and their secrets behind. Unfortunately, a murder case she becomes involved with, causes her to become more involved with the murderer of said case. Yet, her young neighbor Carla brings some heavy baggage and secrets, as well as crazy events to the home of Lily and Ed. Sure, I’m behind since this book was released last winter, but I’m beyond excited to crack this story open.

Successfully, my shelf space is getting smaller and smaller and I can’t be more proud and excited! Picking up my next three reads July 1st. Have any suggestions as to what I should add to the list, let me know.

Leave a Reply

